Book Reviews, YA book reviews

Evermore (Everless #2) by Sara Holland

evermore

My Rating ~ Three and a half stars

3half-gold-stars copy 2

RELEASED: 31 December 2018

Publisher: Orchard Books

Format: Hardback

Pages: 349

Blurb

Jules confronts the girl who is both her oldest friend and greatest enemy in the highly anticipated sequel – and conclusion – to the Top Ten Bestseller Everless.

Jules Ember was raised hearing legends of the ancient magic of the wicked Alchemist and the good Sorceress. But she has just learned the truth: She is the Alchemist, and Caro – a woman who single-handedly murdered the Queen and Jules’s first love, Roan, in cold blood – is the Sorceress.

The whole kingdom believes that Jules is responsible for the murders, and a hefty bounty has been placed on her head. And Caro is intent on destroying Jules, who stole her heart twelve lifetimes ago. Now Jules must piece together the stories of her past lives to save the person who has captured her heart in this one.

Perfect for fans of Victoria Aveyard, Stephanie Garber and Kendare Blake, Evermore is the high-stakes, star-crossed follow up to Everless that fans have been waiting for.

 

1

Review

As this is the second book in the series, there may be some spoilers for the first book, Everless, in my review!

 

Evermore jumped in right where Everless left off – Jules is on the run, having just discovered her true identity.  Liam is there to help her both survive and try to figure out if there’s a way to defeat the Sorceress before she destroys  everyone Jules cares about.  As she discovers she can bring back some memories of her past life as the Alchemist, by visiting places that might have been significant, she tries to piece together information that could help her in the search for a weapon to use against Caro.

I adored Everless so much and I did enjoy Evermore, but not quite as much. Most of the book is centred around Jules and Liam on the run, so we don’t get to spend a lot of time in Everless or with many of the other characters we got to know in the first book.  I found the story to be fast moving and finished the book the same day I started, but I think I was just looking for a few more ‘gasp out loud’ twists like we saw in Everless.  The aspect of time as currency also didn’t play a major role in Evermore and it was my favourite part of Everless – it was just such a new and unique magic system and I wanted to read more about it!  I enjoyed the blossoming relationship between Jules and Liam, and the complication of Jules being too afraid admitting her feelings for him would put him in grave danger.  The ending was great, but would have been a little more powerfully emotional if Caro had more page time in this book.  Overall I was still happy with it as a conclusion to the series though, and I have to add that the cover is just stunning!

 

goodreads-badge-add-plus

Evermore pic by bookbookowl

 

Photo via my Instagram account – Bookbookowl

2 thoughts on “Evermore (Everless #2) by Sara Holland”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s