Book Reviews, YA book reviews

The Guardian’s Heart (The Lost Souls #1) by Gabriel Lea

guardianshearrt

My Rating ~ Four stars

4-gold-stars copy

RELEASED: 15 December 2018

Format: Ebook

Pages: 300

Blurb

Dreams and destiny, magic and mystery, and an impossible romance that has pierced the veil and holds the power to alter worlds.

Dreams and destiny, magic and mystery, and an impossible romance that has pierced the veil and holds the power to alter worlds.

Every human being knows heartbreak, but Lilly shouldn’t be feeling that…not anymore. Her time as a human ended long ago. She’s a Soul Guardian now, lending guidance from beyond the stars. But when she’s sent to soothe the human with the fathomless green eyes and crushed spirit, the impossible happens.

Is it fate, magic, or a power much greater that has pierced the veil between worlds and brought them face to face? A past that was locked away and forgotten is rising to the surface, stirring emotions she can’t accept or deny. Her pristine, harmonious city is becoming plagued with misfortune. A mysterious, dusty manuscript is calling to share its secrets. And Lilly is being tested by feelings so powerful that nothing can hold them back – not even time, space or death. Little does she know, that she and the green-eyed boy are spinning the threads of fate that will alter the course of worlds.

Fans of Laini Taylor, Marie Rutkoski and Leigh Bardugo will fall in love with this daring, new fantasy romance series. The Guardian’s Heart will draw you into a visionary world, hidden beyond a million burning stars, and leave you believing that magic really does live within us all.

 

1

Review

The Guardian’s Heart was a one of those books that made me feel like I was floating through it.  The writing was beautiful and the premise quite unique.  When Lilly finds herself repeatedly attracted to the same soul in her role as Soul Guardian (instead of multiple souls as usual), she doesn’t quite know what’s going on.  When it appears that person, Jay, can actually hear and see her, she’s even more confused.  That’s not how any of it is supposed to work.  While trying to live her normal life on the planet Panacea – going to lessons and hanging out with her best friends, she can’t stop her mind from wandering back to Jay, and when she might see him again.

Although I saw the twist coming before it was revealed, it was still done well and didn’t take away any enjoyment from the story.  The characters were a lot of fun and the romance was sweet.

I loved the way the Soul Guardian’s were shown as beings living typical lives on another planet.  It made it easy to connect to the characters and relate to their challenges.

I read this book while I was on holiday and it was the perfect book to curl up and relax with!

 

 

goodreads-badge-add-plus

 

The Guardian's Heart pic by bookbookowl

Photo via my Instagram account – Bookbookowl

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s